ARMS Nintendo Direct Coming 17 May | Nintendaily

Nintendo have announced via Twitter that a special ARMS Nintendo Direct will be coming our way 17 May.

If you watched their April Direct, you’ll have seen Nintendo show off a full-on ARMS fight, complete with audio commentary from anthropomorphised mic Biff. What with the steady stream of new costumes, weapons, and characters being slowly unveiled, it is clear that Nintendo are hoping ARMS is going to their next big new IP.

Tomorrow’s ARMS Nintendo Direct is likely to follow along the same lines, showing off more in-game action and character abilities. Eagle-eyed fans noticed in the background of the last Direct evidence of four unannounced characters including what appears to be a robot, so don’t be surprised to see some new fighters announced as well.

Nintendo has also promised a new trailer for Splatoon 2 will be shown.

The full text of the image attached to Nintendo America’s tweet is as follows:

“Tune in May 17 at 3:00pm PT/6:00pm ET for a Nintendo Direct presentation providing a deep dive into the upcoming ARMS game for Nintendo Switch, plus a trailer for Splatoon 2!”

Despite a lukewarm reception to the initial trailer, anticipation for ARMS has been slowly growing over the last few months as Nintendo has done its best to prove the game has depth. Interestingly, Nintendo has confirmed the game doesn’t require motion controls, and that players are free to choose the control method that they prefer. Producer Kosuke Yabuki has gone further to persuade fans ARMS isn’t just another Wii Boxing, saying: “we’re worked hard to make sure that while you could play simply by waving your hands, you couldn’t win against a good player by just doing that.” Depth is what fans are asking for, and depth is hopefully what ARMS will deliver.

The ARMS Nintendo Direct takes place 17 May at 3pm Pacific / 6pm Eastern / 11pm UK / midnight CEST.

Author

Nick Beaumont

Copywriter, journalist and certified Game Freak, Nick is the creator and resident writer here at Nintendaily. Read more about him here: nicholasbeaumont.com